Distribution Priority Areas (DPA) Changes 2020

17 July 2020 | Clinic Owners and Practice Managers, UK/Ireland GPs | 1 minutes read

Distribution Priority Areas (DPA) Changes 2020

While it was said that the DPA Australia map would not change for 3 years, we were not surprised to see some changes implemented on 1 July 2020.

Most areas have expanded to further limit the locations where OTDs can practice, however there have been some wins such as the DPA classification of the Mornington Peninsula.

If you were a DPA location prior to these changes and negotiating with a GP for a position, we suggest you wrap up these negotiations as soon as possible and keep copies to prove these discussions commenced prior to 1 July.

To check the status of your location, check the full map here

Please Note: Further changes may take place over the next few weeks so please monitor the Health Workforce Locator

DPA Areas


  • Geelong
  • Waurn Ponds
  • Ballarat
  • Mornington
  • Wodonga
  • Rosebud
  • Bendigo
  • Bairnsdale


  • Blackheath
  • Woy Woy
  • Albury
  • Kempsey
  • Bathurst


  • Bundaberg
  • Airlie Beach
  • Port Douglas


  • Busselton
  • Margaret River
  • Kalgoorlie
  • Karratha
  • Broome
  • Esperance
  • Albany


  • Port Augusta
  • Port Pirie
  • Victor Harbour
  • Murray Bridge
  • McLaren Vale
  • Blackwood
  • Golden Grove


  • Launceston
  • Devonport
  • Swansea
  • Cambridge
  • Woodbridge
  • Richmond
download whitepaper

A guide to GP Salaries in Australia

Leave your details to download the guide.